WIT Students’ Union holds Annual General Meeting

Pictured left to right : Michelle Byrne (WITSU President), Michael Murphy (WITSU Education Officer), Phil Erskine (Winner of the Student Contribution Award), Marie Sheedy (WITSU Education Officer)

WIT Students’ Union’s (WITSU) Annual General Meeting took place on Tuesday, the 25th of March. All Class Reps and students were invited to attend the event.

The agenda for the meeting involved a number of important reports and elections. All WITSU Officers gave a yearly report detailing what they achieved throughout the academic year. School Convenor Elections also took place. WITSU Officers rely on School Convenors for overall communication from each School.

Successfully elected Convenors included:

School of Business – John Fortune

School of Engineering – Alex Murphy

School of Health Science – Kiera Doyle

School of Humanities – Darren Malone

School of Science and Computing – Laura Norbury


WITSU would like to congratulate the newly elected Convenors and give thanks to all outgoing Convenors:

School of Business – Chloe Thomas

School of Engineering – Cathal Cocoman

School of Health Science – Eric Thyarion

School of Humanities – Philip Erskine

School of Science and Computing – Barry Talt


Class Reps are vital to WITSU for engagement with students. They were all thanked at the event, and a number of WITSU awards were given out. High Attendance at Class Rep Council Awards were rewarded to:

Aisling Doyle

Barry Talt

Benjamin Haynes

Cathal Cocoman

Celine Casey

Colette Maguire

Dan Tormey

Doireann O’Carroll

Georgina Griffin

John Fortune

Kiera Doyle

Laura Norbury

Leah Culleton

Margaret Ormond

Michelle O’Hanlon

Mikey Ennis

Niamh Heaney

Paul Lynch

Phil Erskine

Rhiannon Kavanagh

Ricky Croke

SaraMai Dennehy

Vivianne Smith Caldow

Wikus Roux



Many other WITSU awards were also given out at the event:

Outstanding Student Contribution – Phil Erskine

Class Rep of the Year – Aisling Doyle

Most Engaged  – Laura Norbury

Mature Student of the Year – David Conway

Most Analytical – William Delaney

Most Exact – Ricky Croke

Most Determined – Eric Thyarion

Most Enthusiastic About Pizza – Adam Jonas

Funniest Comment – Dan Tormey

RAG Crew Member of the Year – John Fortune

Welfare Crew Member of the Year – Angela Nastaly



WITSU would like to especially thank Cathy Pembroke for chairing all Class Rep Councils during the academic year.


WITSU would once again like to thank all School Convenors and Class Reps whose work throughout the academic year is greatly appreciated.

Latest News

Does anybody remember being at this special WITSU gig in the canteen?

28 February 2020 is the 40 year anniversary of U2 playing at WIT/WRTC.As Waterford Institute Technology (WIT), formerly Waterford Regional Technical College (WRTC), celebrates its 50th anniversary this year, there’s another important anniversary – a beautiful day when a band called U2 came to play in the WRTC canteen.

Read More

Run for the SU Team 2020/2021

WITSU Elections 2020

Ever thought of running for a position in the Union?
Know someone who you think would be perfect for one of the unions roles?
Pick up a pack from the WITSU Social or College Street SU Desk today.

Read More

WIT Students’ Union Present €14,260 to RAG Week Charities


WIT Students’ Union were thrilled to present a cheque of €14,260 today to the three chosen Raise And Give charities of 2018/19; Pieta House South East, Deise Animal Sanctuary, Make A Wish Ireland, and the student nominated projects of the Nursing Building/Art & Design Graduate Show.

Read More